National Assembly for Wales

Cross-Party Group on Science on STEMM

ANNUAL REPORT 2016/17

MEMBERSHIP

Chair: David Rees AM (Re-elected 2nd November 2016) Vice Chairs: Nick Ramsay AM and Simon Thomas AM (Re-elected 2nd November 2016)

Other Assembly Members who have attended meetings during the year: Julie James AM, Huw Irranca-Davies AM, Suzy Davies AM, Jeremy Miles AM, Mark Isherwood AM

Coordinator: Leigh Jeffes, Royal Society of Chemistry (Re-appointed 2nd November 2016)

External Members:

Cerian Angharad (Association of Science Education), Professor Keith Smith (Royal Society of Chemistry), Dr Stephen Benn (Royal Society of Biology), Bob Cater (Engineering Education Scheme Wales), Professor Tom Crick MBE (Campaign for Science and Engineering), Andy Pugh (Institution of Mechanical Engineering), Dave Harwood (Institution of Mechanical Engineering), Professor Peter Halligan (Learned Society of Wales), Dr David Cunnah (Institute of Physics), David Jones (Geological Society), Professor Ian Wells (University of Wales Trinity St David), Dr Rhobert Lewis (University of South Wales), Dr Lucy Meredith (University of South Wales), Helen Francis (WJEC), Professor Faron Moller (Technocamps), Wendy Sadler MBE (Science Made Simple), Lesley Kirkpatrick (Techniquest), Professor Mike Edmunds (Royal Astronomical Society), Professor Peter Knowles (Cardiff University), Rhys Phillips (Institute of Engineering and Technology), Keith Jones (Institution of Civil Engineers), David Boon (British Geological Survey), Dr Paul Hutchings (British Psychological Society), Andrew Mackenzie (The Physiological Society), Dr Rob Janes (The Open University), Dr Geertje van Keulen, (Microbiology Society),

MEETINGS

The Group met three times:

2nd November 2016 (AGM) - Guest Speaker: Dr Sarah Main, Executive Director, Campaign for Science and Engineering.

7th March 2017 - Guest Speakers: Prof Ian Wells, Head of School of Applied Computing, University of Wales Trinity Saint David, and Prof Wendy Dearing, Director of the NHS Wales Informatics Service (NWIS). 4th July 2017 - Guest Speakers: Lesley Kirkpatrick, CEO, Techniquest, and Dr Robert Hoyle, Head of Science Projects, Welsh Government.

SCIENCE AND THE ASSEMBLY 2017

The Royal Society of Chemistry's thirteenth annual *Science and the Assembly* event was held, on the 6th June at the Pierhead and the Senedd, in cooperation with the Welsh science and engineering community. The theme was: Antimicrobial Resistance. The Chair, David Rees AM, sponsored the event, and was supported by Nick Ramsay AM and Simon Thomas AM, each of whom spoke at the evening reception. The Cabinet Secretary of Health, Wellbeing and Sport, Vaughan Gething also addressed delegates.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT

The Royal Society of Chemistry paid Charlton House Catering Ltd for the cost of refreshments at the three meetings held during the year:

2nd November 2016: £70.20 7th March 2017: £70.20 4th July 2017: £111.00

Grand Total: £251.40

No other expenditure was incurred

Leigh Jeffes Secretary, Cross Party Group on STEMM Royal Society of Chemistry Parliamentary Affairs Adviser November 2017